Kinvara United Under 18s crowned Galway FA Champions!

Kinvara U18s (all but one of whom are U17) won the Galway FA Championship on the 26th April. It was a fantastic evening at Killina, defeating Corrib Rangers 3-0 with goals from Danny Travis, Donal Mulligan, and an own goal. The match was attended by a massive crowd of excited parents and supporters, in a season in which Kinvara only lost one game.

Moreover this season was the culmination of the core of the team being together for over 10 years, during which they won the Cregmore Cup (2014), were beaten finalists in both the Liverpool International (2014) and Galway Cups (2012), finished third in the Premier League (2017), and have players representing Galway. These are all major achievements for a community club playing regularly against the biggest and strongest teams in Galway City, Galway County, and Connacht.

Also, the same core of players representing Seamount College won the Connacht Cup twice (2015 and 2017), and were within 5 minutes of winning the All-Ireland Soccer Cup (2015). The same lads formed the backbone for the relaunch of a successful Gaelic Football team in Kinvara, and in Hurling reached the Feile Finals in Waterford in 2015. They are currently represented in the Kinvara U16, Minor & U21 Hurling teams, and the Minor Gaelic Football team. This is an unprecedented record of sporting achievement by a group of lads who have always been a credit to their families, their clubs, and their community.

For more information, match reports and photos give a like to the KUFC U17 Facebook page.

Kinvara United U18s: Darren Kilkelly (Captain), Donal Keely, Daire Murphy, Eoghan Hanley, Colm Moran, Tom Brennan, Carraigh Murphy, Rory Moran, Oisin Casasin, Danny Travis, Luke Connors, Donal Mulligan, Dean Ivers, Barry Britton, Ciaran Mellick, Ruairi MacSweeney, Jack Bourke, Karim Mullery, Michael Donnelly.


“Best of luck to the Kinvara United F.C Mens team who take on MacDarra in the Joe Ryan Cup in Eamon Deacy Park at 7pm on Thursday 3rd of May.

Our supporters bus will be leaving St Joseph’s National School at 5:45 sharp.

To book a seat call or text Jamie Warrick on 0834708251: